About Ecuador

The country is located on the equatorial line in South America. It limits the north with Colombia, south and east with Peru and at west with the Pacific Ocean. It is divided into four regions: the Coastal Lowlands, the Andean Highlands , the Amazon Rainforest and The Galapagos islands.

Ecuador is a decentralized state whose current government (2007 - 2017) aims to change the model of primary-export specialization through the transformation of the productive matrix.

Among its main production sectors is: The agricultural sector with products such as bananas, coffee, shrimp, cocoa, fish, etc. The industrial sector in terms of oil reserves, electric power industry, processed foods, textiles, chemicals and others. The service sector that makes up a set of activities are aimed at generating electricity, gas, water, construction / civil engineering, transportation, and so on.

Summary information

Official Name República de Ecuador
President: Lenin Moreno (since May 24th, 2017)
Population: 15,868,396 (Julio 2015 est.)
Population growth: 1.35% (2015 est.)
Extension: 283,561 km2
Capital: Quito
Main cities: Quito, Guayaquil and Cuenca
Official currency: American dollar
Official language: Spanish 93%, Quichua 4.1%, other dialects 0.7%, foreign 2.2%
Religion: Freedom of religion, the Catholic religion predominates 74%
GDP: US$ 181.8 billons (2015 est.)
GDP Growth: -0.6% (2015 est.)
GDP per capita: US$ 11,300 (2015 est.)
Gross Investment (%GDP): 22.1% del GDP (2015 est.)
Composition of GDP by Industry: Agricultural: 6.1% (2015 est.) Industry: 34.2% (2015 est.) Services: 59.7% (2015 est.)
Foreign trade: Exports: US$ 18.36 billones (2015 est.) Imports: US$ 20.93 billones (2015 est.)
Major export products: Oil, bananas, flowers, shrimp, cocoa, coffee, timber, fish.
Top destinations: Estados Unidos, Chile, Perú, Panamá
Major import products: Industrial materials, lubricants and fuels, non-durable consumer goods.
Major suppliers: United States, China, Colombia, Panama


images of www.quitotourbus.com